//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Reflections On a Year Away

So here I am, sitting at Stell’s burgers and wondering where my year has gone. I’ve met a lot of people this year, tried a lot of new things, and made a lot of memories that I will remember for a long time. Some highlights:

-Growing close to my friends from Oregon City. I have been SO blessed to have Katherine, Steven, Kaylee, and Taylor up here to hang with. And meeting Kaylee and Katherine’s roommate has been such a blessing as well, she is a gem. These people are beautiful.

-Runs to Kerry Park and Gasworks. Both with friends, and without. For running with a friend is such an example of doing life together, side-by-side. Running alone allows for communion with God and introspection.

-Having a place away from home to grow and struggle in my faith has been instrumental. I think that Seattle Pacific has been the perfect place to allow me to ask questions and challenge my faith; while still having a community of great people who love Jesus to hang out with.

-Finding a church up here that I can grow in. Quest has been great to me, and I love the people there!

-Settling in on a major has been fun as well. While I know it can still change, I think that Biology and Theology are going to offer me great chances to use different parts of my brain, and challenge me in different ways. I’m pretty stoked!

-Going on the Spring Break missions trip with the Jr. High group at OCEC was a blast! I love those kids and the energy which they exuded. They truly know what it means to worship with their heart, mind, and soul.

-Becoming a part of group staff is exciting! Next year is going to be a blast, and I can’t wait to hang out with the awesome people on staff, and help lead others to a place where they feel comfortable to worship.

I has been a year, that’s for sure. I feel like I have grown and changed in so many different ways. I’ve learned to look for the Kingdom of God in the here and now, the present! I’ve learned that I really have this love in my heart for people that I uncover more and more of every day. I have learned that things rarely (if ever) are black and white issues… and I am trying to learn to see the nuances that make up situations and people. I’ve been trying to pull down walls that I had put up in my life, and being more open with the people that are in my life. I’ve been trying to speak less, and listen more; both to the others around me, and God. The beautiful thing that I have realized, is that God isn’t done with me; every day has been an adventure that has changed me in some way. I’m so excited to go home and work with kids this summer at OCEC. Then I get to come back up to this wonderful place and explore more of Seattle! I can only hope that I learn as much next year, as I did this year!

p.s. Nathan has a tumblr now. It’s a weird micro-blogging service that is kinda fun. Check it out at lovewillformallthings.tumblr.com!

About sosnovsken

Student at SPU. Lover of Jesus. Hopeful cynic. Changed by Christ.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

