//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Questions

Lately I have had a lot of questions.

Questions about why Church has become more about the individual and less about loving others. Questions about hell, and who goes there. Questions about if a loving God could truly send millions of souls to hell, and still be considered good.

I have questions about my friend who is gay. He doesn’t seem like an abomination to me; I love him like a brother. Why would any church that claims to love others hate him? Did he not tell me because he was afraid of my judgement? Why did this injustice towards LGBT’s only move me after I was personally affected? What does that say about me and my character as a person?

I have questions about who Jesus was. Actually, I have questions about the way the church portrays Jesus. Why is he white in 90% of the pictures I see? I know his death and resurrection are important. Why does his life not hold equal weight in the teachings of the church? Why do we love to quote Jesus when he talks of heaven but shy away from verses such as, “Blessed are the poor” (yes I purposely left out ‘in spirit,’ look up Luke 6:20).

Why are there so many different interpretations of the bible? How can the bible be 100% literally true in its present form if people reach different conclusions upon reading it? Why do we so often not read the bible with proper historical and cultural context. Shouldn’t context be everything?

Why do we assume that we know everything about theology and morals that there is? Why do we brand anyone who floats any new idea a radical? Isn’t that what Jesus was? 200 years ago we claimed we had truth; while at the same time using our theology to justify slavery. Now we balk at that idea and say that was not truth? Truth can change? What is going to change in the future that we are so sure of now?

Why do people find questions so dangerous?

Isn’t a question just an inquisition that one throws in the direction of truth, hoping to eventually hit it?

Shouldn’t people like questions? Shouldn’t they lead us to the truth? If people think they have all the answers down pat, why do they fear the questions that lead to the truth that they supposedly have?

Didn’t Job ask questions?

I think we should embrace questions.

Some would question my faith after reading this. I think questions strengthen my faith.

About sosnovsken

Student at SPU. Lover of Jesus. Hopeful cynic. Changed by Christ.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Questions

  1. Great questions Nathan. You are asking questions I have wondered myself. I would love to sit down with you sometime and process with you…I don’t have answers but maybe more questions. 🙂

    Posted by revjosh08 | March 30, 2011, 6:12 pm
  2. I agree Nathan…I grew up thinking, not from my parents, but certain pastors and teachers, that questioning my faith was a bad thing, that I shouldn’t question, but receive. How wrong that was! Ask the questions bro…they do strengthen your faith. And eventually arrive at conclusions. If there are things I don’t know for sure, I feel perfectly fine to be honest with that. I love to study and I love to develop my mind. It’s sooo important. Good questions…

    I’ve often wondered why Christians paint a picture of Christ the way they do, and why that common picture (not just the visual picture) is so commonly accepted. Isn’t that a disservice to who Christ actually is? Isn’t that making him out to be a liar?

    Shouldn’t the body be the place where we help each other wrestle and heal? Shouldn’t it be a place where we can admit sin and seek help and accountability (not just a gossip prayer chain)? If one is struggling with sin, what is the place of the body? What role should we take on when one of our own has questions?

    Why do people leave the body? What are they weary from? What are they running away from? Conviction? Gossip? Judgment?

    Frankly, I’m not a fan of “Love the sinner, hate the sin.” It seems so incomplete…what do you think?

    Posted by Anna Shelton | April 11, 2011, 8:24 pm

Leave a Reply

